When you delete a file from your computer, it moves to the Windows Recycle Bin. You empty the Recycle Bin and the file is permanently erased from the hard drive. Right? But these files are not really removed from your hard disk.When you delete files or folders, the data is not initially removed from the hard disk. Instead, the space on the disk that was occupied by the deleted data is "deallocated." After it is deallocated, the space is available for use when new data is written to the disk. Until the space is overwritten.These deleted files can be recovered with recovery software. So if you want some files to be really removed from your hard disk, you need something more than just deleting them.
When you want to get rid of sensitive files or folders permanently, try this user friendly software CyberShredder. CyberShredder overwrites the space occupied from a file with random data and erases the file, so an unerase utility will never be able to recover it.It has simple interface. It deletes files using three different shredding methods, including the NSA approved seven-pass file deletion method.
Please note that files and directories erased by CyberShredder can not be recovered using an undelete program. Make sure you use it with care
Download : CyberShredder |SysReq: Win 9x/ME/NT/2K/XP/2K3 | 254 KB
Another free tool SDelete from Microsoft can permanently wipe single files or directories or multiple objects by using wild cards.